Wednesday, May 9, 2012

India to Extend TVoA to France, Germany and Russia

India is set to offer Visa-on-Arrival to the nationals of France, Germany and Russia as the country’s Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) gave its green signal to this new TVoA policy.

The move will have more travellers from these countries booking tickets on flights to India that will assist Indian Government to realise its goal of doubling the international tourist footfall in the country in next 3 to 4 years. The government sources rule out any expected reciprocation from these countries, which so far do not provide TVoA to Indian nationals, as one of its objective.

It is a common belief that TVoA to any country adds to its tourism industry. India is quite popular among Europeans and many hope to net airline tickets on cheap flights to India for their next holiday tour. While cheap flights deal may be at times easy to come by, a pre-approved Indian visa could jeopardise travel plans for many.

Finland and Luxembourg are only two Europeans countries so far covered under India’s TVoA policy. Now, with its extension, many French and German tourists will also be able to plan their travel to India without worrying about Indian Visa.

Security implications and tourist inflow from a particular country form part of the criteria for granting TVoA to the residents of that country.

While, Spain and Malta are being considered positively sources within the MEA hint that idea of clearing TVoA for certain Central Asian nations does not seem to have unanimity in the Indian government.

As of now, 11 countries including Japan, Indonesia, the Philippines, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Singapore, Myanmar, Finland, Luxembourg and New Zealand enjoy India’s TVoA policy.


No comments:

Post a Comment

All spam comments will be deleted without confirmation.

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.